The Hits Album (CBS / WEA, 1984)

Hits 1

Hits 1r

The Hits Series began in November 1984 as a joint venture between CBS and WEA and was also compiled in association with Jive and Arista. It was set up as a direct rival to Virgin and EMI’s Now That’s What I Call Music brand. The first album stole a march on Now 4 by being released a week beforehand. This proved to be a winning strategy as The Hits Album kept Now 4 off the top of the charts all through December.

The sleeve was designed by Studio Garrard and resembles a Monopoly board with each artist / song title having two squares with a thumbnail photograph on the left. The album contains 32 tracks (two more than the each of the first three Now volumes although Now 4 also had 32) with the emphasis on US acts. It contains three number ones [George Michael, Wham! and Chaka Khan] and quite a few silver medallists from that summer and early autumn. The sequencing is mostly great with four loosely-themed sides [pop, soul, romantic and rock].

Side one is quality from start to finish. Wham!’s Freedom sets the scene with quality pop from Howard Jones [non-album single Like To Get To Know You Well], Alison Moyet’s edgy All Cried Out and Paul Young’s hard-wired cover of I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down. Alphaville had a massive European hit with the moody Big In Japan while we go stateside for Laura Branigan’s Self Control theatrics, Ghostbusters and Thriller [complete with early fade].

The second side is all about the soul with a disco flavour. Aside from chart-topper I Feel For You, there’s killer cuts from Miami Sound Machine, Deniece Williams, Sister Sledge [a revved-up Lost In Music] and the S.O.S. Band. The single edit of Prince’s Purple Rain ends the first half. While it pales in comparison to the album version epic, it’s nice to hear the shorter take nowadays.

Side 3 is for romantics with the inimitable Careless Whisper effortlessly blending in with The Cars and Chicago. The Stranglers’ Skin Deep and the Thompson Twins’ Sister Of Mercy are less well-remembered hits from that summer but still evoke a rush of good memories. The plaintive Each And Every One from a youthful Everything But The Girl is followed by Sade’ sultry Smooth Operator [from Diamond Life – the driving-with-the-window-open-record of the year].

It’s now time to rock. Side 4 starts with a 1-2-3 punch of greatness [Gimme All Your Lovin’, Jump and Footloose] before veering into orbit with Adam Ant’s spaced oddity Apollo 9. Things get a little sentimental with Modern Girl, Some Guys Have All The Luck [Rod at his hoarse-best] and Shaky’s Teardrops. Finally we end with a real curveball. It’s Neil and Hole In My Shoe. A #2 hit for The Young One that actually deposed Two Tribes in Ireland before the reverse happened the following week. It’s a charming way to end a storming debut from the Hits series.

Favourite tracks
Prince and The Revolution – Purple Rain

Alphaville – Big In Japan

George Michael – Careless Whisper

Chaka Khan – I Feel For You

Lest we forget
Neil – Hole In My Shoe

Missing tracks and other thoughts
The only number one that they missed out on was Stevie Wonder’s I Just Called To Say I Love You. This was hardly surprising since it was the main draw on The Woman In Red soundtrack LP.
I’d also like to have seen Freddie Mercury’s Love Kills and Lionel Richie’s Penny Lover.
Madonna’s Like A Virgin was hot off the presses in November 1984 and would have been a great coup here.


Here’s the Music Week advert from November 1984. Thanks to David Hannah for sharing.
Hits 1.1 advert

Hits 1.2 advert

This entry was posted in Hits series. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Hits Album (CBS / WEA, 1984)

  1. Paul K says:

    Perhaps it was the ‘Monopoly board’ (the two follow-ups continued the theme) but I always regarded this series as a poor relation to ‘NOW’ – that said (apart from one or two clunkers) it’s a solid effort and very well done in finding that promo ad – something I certainly don’t recall seeing much of at the time (in complete contrast to ‘NOW’s almost eye-watering promotions.)

    • nlgbbbblth says:

      The focus on US tracks that didn’t quite hit the mark was possibly a reason. However the first wave of the Hits series (1984 – 1991) has a lot to recommend it. Hits 2 covers off the spring of 1985 very well while Hits 4 is a very solid effort. The CD version of Hits 6 [a cherrypicking of the greatest bits] is one of the best sequenced discs I have ever heard. The fact that it contains single edits of La Isla Bonita, I Want Your Sex and The Slightest Touch makes it essential. The late 80s ones all had their strong points too and I’ll cover them off over the coming months. The series re-invented itself a half dozen times over the years and made some very shoddy moves in terms of track duplication etc.

  2. Pingback: Now That’s What I Call Music 4 (EMI, 1984) | A Pop Fan's Dream

  3. Pingback: Cocktail Hour And Cool Emotions (Teldec, 1985) | A Pop Fan's Dream

  4. Pingback: Hot And New (WEA, 1984) | A Pop Fan's Dream

  5. Pingback: Now That’s What I Call Music 1984 (EMI / Virgin / Polygram, 1993) | A Pop Fan's Dream

  6. Pingback: Hot And New ’85 (WEA, 1985) | A Pop Fan's Dream

  7. Pingback: Now That’s What I Call Music 32 (EMI / Virgin / Polygram, 1995) | A Pop Fan's Dream

  8. Pingback: Hits Hits Hits (Telstar, 1984) | A Pop Fan's Dream

  9. antster1983 says:

    Here’s the ad upscaled to 1080p…

  10. Pingback: Now That’s What I Call Music 1984: The Millennium Series (EMI / Virgin / Universal, 1999) | A Pop Fan's Dream

  11. Matt Hayes says:

    I didn’t realize that “Thriller” was meant to fade out early on The Hits Album. Is that because it was the single version? I had always assumed it was one of Hits notorious early fades. Anyhow, I think Hits 1 is one of the better ones in the series. A very solid start that would peak with Hits 6 and still continue to be solid up until Snap It Up where it all started to fall apart (though I think Snap It Up is OK).

    • nlgbbbblth says:

      Yes, it’s the 7″ edit of Thriller. Still sounds poor even though it is the single mix – the fade sounds forced. I like the way this one is split into themed sides.

      Extract from my Classic Pop article – “After the unequivocal success of the first three Now albums, it was inevitable that competition would emerge. The Hits series began in November 1984 as a joint venture between CBS and WEA with its first effort stealing a march on Now 4 by being released a week beforehand. This was a winning strategy as The Hits Album topped the charts for seven weeks and kept its rival off the coveted Christmas No.1 slot. It came loaded with a number of US acts; indeed the television advert just focused on Prince, The Cars and Chicago with the four sides loosely divided into pop, soul, romantic and rock themes. ”

      Read more –

  12. antster1983 says:

    Which version of Lost in Music was on HITS 1? Was it the original 1979 version or was it the 1984 Nile Rodgers remix?

    • nlgbbbblth says:

      1984 remix – not a huge difference – runs about 5 / 6 seconds less than the 1979 7″
      As far as I remember there as no 1984 remix of Thinking Of You (on Now 3)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s